PDF version


Prizes for Freedom of Thought in the Arab World


           The IBN RUSHD Fund for Freedom of Thought will award its PRIZE 2003 to


an Arab thinker and professor (fem., masc.) who has rendered outstanding services in the field of enlightenment, who has offered through his theoretical work a genuinely Arab guide to reason  finding new perspectives for the present and future whilst preserving the dialogue between tradition and modernity


The IBN RUSHD PRIZE for Freedom of Thought will be given to the prize winner in an official ceremony in Berlin, around the 10th of December, in commemoration of the 800th anniversary of Ibn Rushd’s (a.k.a Averroes) death and his heritage – especially his appeal for freedom of thought and tolerance. Following the awarding there will be a press conference. The Prize amounts to 2500,-- EUR. The IBN RUSHD Fund agrees to pay a return flight to Berlin, board and lodging for three-days. 


Anyone interested can nominate a person whom he or she thinks would deserve the prize. Please send your proposal per letter or e-Mail before the 1st of July 2003 to the address below and attach a paper in which you explain the reason for your choice and information


These proposals will be passed on to the members of an independent jury who will select the winner from among the proposals.


The first IBN RUSHD Prize  1999 was given in Arab Media. The winner was Al JAZEERA TV Satellite Channel/Qatar  for  its efforts to make freedom of speech and tolerance possible and respected in Arab Media.

The second IBN RUSHD Prize 2000 was given for the emancipation of Arab women. The winner was Issam Abdulhadi, President of the General Union of Palestinian Women.

The third IBN RUSHD Prize 2001 was given on the 8th of December in House of Literature/Berlin to the Egyptian writer and critic Mahmoud Amin El Alem for his struggle for freedom, democracy and enlightenment as well as his political commitment.

4th IBN RUSHD Prize 2002 was given to the  Arab PARLIAMENTARIAN who has rendered outstanding services to the realisation of democracy and multi-party system in the Arab society. The winner is Dr. Azmi Bishara, a palestinian member of Knesset in Israel.